The ASTL appoints executive committee

Ryan Bembridge

September 4, 2018

The Association for Short Term Lenders has unveiled its executive committee, active from 1 September.

There are four board members: Sarah Jackson from Pivot, Narinder Khattoare from Kuflink, Anita Kirkbright from Amicus Finance and Jonathan Newman (pictured) from Brightstone Law.

They join Benson Hersch, chief executive, and current board members James Bloom from Masthaven and Brian West from Central Bridging.

Benson Hersch, chief executive of the ASTL, said: “As we celebrate ten years of the ASTL, we will look to our new board to shape the direction and standards of our members, and the wider industry.

“The appointments of Sarah, Narinder, Anita and Jonathan will provide us with the skills and experience to ensure the continued growth of the ASTL membership and strengthen our position as a market leading voice for the short-term lending sector.”

The ASTL’s membership rules are that all members of the committee, except the CEO, must retire after serving a maximum of two years.

Every year those interested in taking up the available spaces on the committee put their names forward and are then democratically elected by the ASTL’s wider membership.

Jackson: “The appointment of two women to the ASTL Board is hugely encouraging and further indication that demographics in finance are starting to shift.

“I am thrilled to be part of this positive change and very excited to work with Benson and other members of the ASTL board to help shape the future of an association that is seeing its highest ever numbers.

“Given short-term lending volumes are ever increasing and the number of new lenders coming to the market, the vital role of the association in maintaining standards and increasing awareness of the value of bridging is more important than ever.”

Sign up to our daily email