Equity Release Council appoints senior politicians

Robyn Hall

October 8, 2012

As part of its new structure the council has formed an advisory board comprising experts drawn from a range of sectors including policy, academia, and communications.

The board members are Lord David Lipsey, Lord Michael German, Lord Richard Best, Eric Ollerenshaw MP, Heather Wheeler MP, and Laurie Edmans CBE the former Chairman of SHIP.

Nigel Waterson, chairman of The Equity Release Council, said: “When we launched the council in June we aimed to sign up a variety of members including advisers, solicitors, surveyors and other interested parties.

“We have taken the same approach to our advisory board, confident that the contribution of different voices will help us to better represent and support the needs of the sector.”

Andrea Rozario, director general of The Equity Release Council, added: “There is still much that needs to be done in order to make the equity release market safer and better regulated for consumers.

“We are very pleased to welcome several senior politicians as their support not only shows that equity release has climbed up the political agenda but also demonstrates a turnaround in views of equity release.

“We are certain their contributions will prove invaluable in ensuring that the Council works alongside the Government to further improve and develop the equity release market.”

Sign up to our daily email