Mark Francois is named housing minister

Sarah Davidson

May 11, 2015

There have now been five Conservative housing ministers since 2010: Grant Shapps, Mark Prisk, Kris Hopkins, Brandon Lewis and now Mark Francois.

The former armed forces minister has been MP for Rayleigh and Wickford since 2001.

Other appointments in the Department for Communities and Local Government include Greg Clarke as secretary of state and Kris Hopkins as parliamentary under secretary of state.

Today the PM also made Sajid Javid business secretary, Greg Hands George Osborne’s number two as chief secretary to the Treasury and John Whittingdale secretary of state for culture. Iain Duncan Smith will remain as work and pensions secretary.

Boris Johnson, the London mayor, was not made a minister but will attend separate cabinet meetings.

Sign up to our daily email